Independent student content

BG Falcon Media

Independent student content

BG Falcon Media

Independent student content

BG Falcon Media

Follow us on social
  • Children of Eden written by Joey Graceffa
    By: Destiny Breniser This book was published in 2016 with its genre being Young Adult,  Dystopian, and Apocalyptic. This story is about Rowan, who is a second-born child living in a city where her entire existence is illegal. She longs for the day when she can leave her family’s house and live without fear.  She […]
  • An Unwanted Guest written by Shari Lapena
    By: Destiny Breniser A classic whodunnit that keeps you guessing till the very end. With twelve characters to read varying points of view from, there is always something happening to leave you wondering what is going on.  This book was published in 2018 with its genre being a mystery thriller. The story starts with Reily […]

And the Osar goes to…

It’s Oscar time again. This year’s Academy Award nominations promises to produce wins for seasoned veterans, but could have a few surprise winners as well.

Clint Eastwood took Paul Giamatti’s place in the Best Actor category for “Million Dollar Baby,” while Don Cheadle got his first nomination for “Hotel Rwanda.”

Michael Moore took himself out of the documentary category by submitting “Fahrenheit 9/11” for Best Picture and came up empty. The local area gets some national attention with documentary nominee “Twist of Faith,” which involves sexual abuse at a local church in Toledo.

Mel Gibson let his work speak for itself by refusing to place award advertisements for “The Passion of the Christ,” which still got three nominations, though in lower profile technical categories.

The 77th Annual Academy Awards will be broadcast Sunday, Feb. 27 at 8 p.m. on ABC with Chris Rock as emcee. Herethe major nominations and predictions for main categories.

Best Picture

The Aviator

Finding Neverland

Million Dollar Baby



And the winner is:

The frontrunner usually wins this category, so this one goes to “The Aviator,” which leads the pack with 11 nominations.

Best Director

Martin Scorsese – The Aviator

Alexandar Payne – Sideways

Taylor Hackford – Ray

Clint Eastwood- Million Dollar Baby

Mike Leigh- Vera Drake

And the winner is:

Usually, one Best Picture nominee doesn’t get a director nod. This year, it was “Finding Neverland” and director Marc Forster. The more egregious omission was the absence of Zhang Yimou (“House of Flying Daggers”). In a battle between Hollywood veterans, Eastwood and Scorsese, expect Scorsese to come out on top, not so much for “The Aviator” but for a lifetime of unrecognized brilliance.

Best Actress

Annette Bening — Being Julia Hilary Swank – Million Dollar Baby

Kate Winslet – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Imelda Stauton – Vera Drake

Catalina Sandino Moreno -Maria Full of Grace

And the winner is:

Hilary Swank and Annette Bening faced off in 1999 (“Boys Don’t Cry” and “American Beauty” respectively) with Swank coming out on top. Don’t be surprised if Bening, the veteran Hollywood actress “got her due.”

Best Actor

Jamie Foxx — Ray

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Aviator

Johnny Depp – Finding Neverland

Don Cheadle – Hotel Rwanda Clint Eastwood – Million Dollar Baby

And the winner is:

A solid group even without Jim Cavizel-“Passion of the Christ,” Kevin Spacey-“Beyond the Sea,” Jim Carrey-“Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” and, of course, Paul Giamatti-“Sideways.”

Foxx should win based on his amazing portrayal of Ray Charles and genuine musical talents, but don’t count DiCaprio out.

Best Supporting Actor

Morgan Freeman – Million Dollar Baby

Clive Owen – Closer

Alan Alda – The Aviator

Jamie Foxx – Collateral

Thomas Haden Church -Sideways

And the winner is:

Freeman will win because he’s long overdue. Foxx cancels himself out by winning for lead actor. Owen is the only other nominee with a good chance.

Best Supporting Actress

Cate Blanchett – The Aviator Laura Linney – Kinsey

Virginia Madsen – Sideways Natalie Portman – Closer

Sophie Okonedo – Hotel Rwanda

Portman has the edge, but Blanchett or Madsen could get it.

Original screenplay

Charlie Kaufman, Michel Gondry and Pierre Bismuth – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind Brad Bird – The Incredibles John Logan – The Aviator

Keir Pearson ‘ Terry George-Hotel Rwanda

Mike Leigh- Vera Drake

“The Aviator” might be considered the front runner, so Logan has a good chance, but Pearson and George should prevail.

Adapted screenplay

David Magee -Finding Neverland Paul Haggis -Million Dollar Baby

Jose Rivera – Motorcycle Dairies Alexander Payne ‘ Jim Taylor -Sideways

Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke – Before Sunset

Payne and Taylor will win because the academy likes to reward the smaller films in the screenwriting categories. I wouldn’t be surprised if Rivera wins.

Leave a Comment
Donate to BG Falcon Media
Our Goal

Your donation will support the student journalists of Bowling Green State University. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to BG Falcon Media
Our Goal

Comments (0)

All BG Falcon Media Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *