Ribeau honored in St. Louis

ST. LOUIS, MO. — The National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) has selected Bowling Green State University President Sidney A. Ribeau as the 2003 recipient of its President’s Award. The president accepted the award at the NASPA National Conference yesterday in St. Louis. The President’s Award gives special recognition to a college or university president who has, over a sustained period of time, advanced the quality of student life on campus by supporting student affairs staff and programs. Nominees must show evidence of direct involvement in enhancing the quality of student life on campus, active attempts to involve students and student life staff in governing the institution,and demonstrable contributions to the profession which have an impact beyond an individual campus.

NASPA recognizes and honors Ribeau for his courage and leadership in guiding the Bowling Green State University campus community to develop a community focused on student learning, designed to educate the whole student by taking students’ personal and intellectual growth into consideration.

His vision has led to numerous values initiatives, which have reshaped the tenor and tone of campus life. Many programs have developed from these initiatives, programs which provide opportunities for students to question, challenge and be challenged and ultimately become principled citizens: learning communities, freshman seminars on critical thinking about values, co-curricular experiences all focused on student involvement in campus activities and service-learning,and intensive junior- and senior-year experiences.

Few presidents focus their energies on the creation of this type of community, involving students in every step of decision making,and promoting collaboration and close relationships with students, faculty and student affairs professionals. NASPA honors him for creating a community dedicated to educating the whole student, the organization said of Ribeau’s selection.

Ribeau’s recognition follows that of last year’s recipient, Graham Spanier, president of Penn State University. The association is also honoring individuals in a number of other areas in higher education.