Aspacher voted City Council president

Third Ward Council Member Mike Aspacher became council president after a unanimous vote Monday night.

Aspsacher will be replacing Second Ward Council Member John Zanfardino, who voluntarily stepped down from the position.

“I am excited for the challenge, I’m honored by the support of my peers and I am humbled by the opportunity to serve the community in this capacity,” Aspacher said in a phone interview on Tuesday afternoon.

Aspacher said his goals are to be effective in communicating with the administration and coordinating council’s activities.

Aspacher will be serving his third term with council this year.

Another change to council will be the addition of Fourth Ward Council Member Theresa Charters Gavarone, a Republican who replaced Rob Piasecki.

Because of Gavarone’s background as a lawyer at a local firm and a person who is active in the business community, Aspacher believes she will bring new perspectives and ideas to council.

The next city council meeting is Jan. 21.